Beethoven’s Moonlight Sonata

Ludwig van Beethoven’s Moonlight Sonata is one of the most famous compositions played for the piano.  Beethoven wrote this beautiful piece of music in the year 1801 then was officially published and presented a year later, in 1802.  This composition is also named the Piano Sonata but was mostly known as the Moonlight Sonata which the name was actually given by a poet, Ludwig Rellstab, around the 1830s.  Beethoven dedicated this amazing composition to his young student, Countess Giulietta Gucciardi.  This composition consists of three movements (or parts).  It’s separated because the mood and theme changes throughout and musically should be divided into movements.  The first movement, Adagio Sostenuto, is mostly established with a rhythmic pattern and accented notes (when the note is played it is signified).  The second movement, Allegretto, is a smaller part than the other two so it’s more of a bridge or connection to the third part.  The third movement, Presto Agitato, is the last and final movement of the sonata and has many accented notes and arpeggios (musical notes in  a rapid succession). This part was referred to as the storm of the sonata.  The Moonlight Sonata was an incredible piece of art for the piano and Beethoven has done an amazing job composing it.

Here is a link to Beethoven’s Moonlight Sonata played by Vladimir Horowitz

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s